management imgThe COPERNICUS Alliance was established and is run by members, for its members. It is registered as an NGO non-for-profit organisation under German law. The CA is self-financed and uses its funds to achieve its mission. It also seeks external funding for projects and activities.

The network is coordinated by a Leadership Team and supported by an Advisory Board and a Network Manager. The Leadership Team and Advisory Board members are volunteering positions. The Leadership Team is elected by the CA members for a period of two years, the terms of Advisory Board members are four years. 



Leadership Team


  • Dr. Anne Zimmermann, University of Bern    President   

Anne Zimmermann

Anne Zimmermann is a senior research scientist at the Centre for Development and Environment (CDE), University of Bern, and Head of CDE’s Education for Sustainable Development cluster. She holds a doctorate in English languages and literatures, with a focus on post-colonial studies. She joined CDE in 1999 and has focused on issues related to integrating sustainable development into research and teaching ever since. Currently, she is a member of a small team that is supporting the Vice-Rectorate Quality’s efforts to mainstream sustainable development in teaching at all faculties. She is also involved in researching and publishing on transformative learning and science for sustainable development, and is a member of the SAGUF’s Working Group on Education for Sustainable Development. She has long-term experience of teaching inter- and transdisciplinary research skills in a North-South context and is committed to supporting young researchers' skills through offering scientific writing courses. She also coordinated efforts to support young women’s careers as well as mainstream gender in research in the 12-year NCCR North-South programme. 

  • Dr. Ingrid Mulà, University of Girona    Executive Director   

MulaIngrid Mulà is research and knowledge transfer manager at the Institute of Educational Research (IRE) at University of Girona. She holds a doctorate in Sustainability from the University of Gloucestershire, with a focus on social learning and institutional change for sustainable development in higher education. She joined the IRE in November 2017 with the specific role of supporting researchers' projects and outputs especially in the area of Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). Her research trajectory has always focused on researching and bringing about change for sustainability at the university level. During her time in the UK, Ingrid coordinated the COPERNICUS Alliance secretariat (2012-14) and took a pivotal role in writing, and coordinating the “University Educators for Sustainable Development (UE4SD)” which involved 53 universities in 33 countries. In addition to this, she coordinated a United Nations University Regional Centre of Expertise in ESD (UNU RCE Severn) and actively participated in the RCE global network.  

  • Mario Diethart, University of Graz    Network Manager  

DiethartMario Diethart holds a master in Environmental System Sciences with focus on geography from the University of Graz. He is working in the field of Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) as part of the Regional Centre of Expertise (RCE) Graz-Styria. He was involved in various EU research projects focusing on innovative education approaches (e-learning, international, intergenerational settings) and more recently on participatory city planning and sustainable tourism. Before assuming the role as Network Manager in the COPERNICUS Alliance he served as Finance Administrator of the network.  

  • University of Girona    Network Coordinating Institution  


Advisory Board

ab imgThe Advisory Board members are elected for a period of four years by the CA members. They can be CA member representatives, student representatives or assume an extended advisory board role. The current members are:

  • Prof. Matthias Barth  
      Member representative   
    President, Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, Germany

  • Prof. Kim Ceulemans, PhD  
      Extended Advisory Board Role    
    Assistant Professor, Department of Control, Accounting and Auditing at Toulouse Business School, France 

  • Dr. Jana Dlouhá 
      Member representative  
    Researcher at Charles University Environment Centre and former CA Vice-President, Czech Republic

  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Rebeka Kovačič Lukman
      Member representative  
    Professor of Environmental Sciences at University of Maribor, Slovenia

  • Dr. Clemens Mader 
      Extended Advisory Board Role  
    Co-Director at RCE Zurich and Scientist at the Technology and Society Lab of Empa in St. Gallen, Switzerland

  • Dr. Estibaliz Saez de Camara Oleaga
      Member representative  
    Director of Sustainability at University of the Basque Country, Spain

  • Prof. Dr. Eglė Staniškienė
      Member representative 
    Professor at School of Economics at Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania