About KU Leuven: Founded in 1425, KU Leuven has been a centre of learning for almost six centuries. Today, it is Belgium’s highest ranked university as well as one of the oldest and most renowned universities in Europe. KU Leuven is a leading European research university and co-founder of the League of European Research Universities (LERU). The university offers a wide variety of internationally oriented programmes. These programmes are supported by high-quality interdisciplinary research conducted at both the university and its inter nationally acclaimed hospitals. Boasting an outstanding central location in the heart of Europe, KU Leuven offers a truly international experience, high-quality education, world-class research, and cutting-edge innovation.
KU Leuven conducts fundamental and applied research in all academic disciplines with a clear international orientation. In the Times Higher Education ranking (2017-2018) KU Leuven is ranked as 47th university, and listed 5th University in the Reuters Top 100 of the World’s most innovative institutions (2017).

Website of KU Leuven


About the Institute for the Future: The Institute for the Future at KU Leuven is a research incubator that supports, catalyzes and accelerates transdisciplinary research, developing innovative, alternative solutions, scenarios, policies and/or transition thinking for current and future societal and global challenges. The ethical framework is within the sustainable development goals.
The Institute for the Future has an incubator track where education is part of the ‘pre-incubator’ through forming student teams from different disciplines, experts, and societal stakeholders, around global or societal problems which require a transdisciplinary approach. Interesting ideas from these teams then are incubated to assess their potency and sustainability.

Website of the Institute for the Future


Members map

members map

Founding members

These institutions supported the foundation of the COPERNICUS Alliance in 2010 by donating an extra sponsorship: 

  • University of Graz, Austria
  • University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria
  • University of Technology Graz, Austria
  • WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Leuphana University Luneburg, Germany
  • Open Universiteit in the Netherlands, The Netherlands
  • London South Bank University, UK
  • University of Gloucestershire, UK