The University of Gävle, Sweden

GavleThe University of Gävle is a public university, located in the city of Gävle, Sweden. Established in 1977, the University is human-centred and develops the understanding of a sustainable living environment. The University has of three faculties (Health and Occupational Studies, Engineering and Sustainable Development, and Education and Business Studies), teaching 17,000 students and employing 700 staff. The university offers more than 50 study programs as well as 500 independent courses.

The university has, since 2011, committed to a mission to develop understanding for a sustainable living environment and the vision to have a leading position in both education and research in terms of sustainable development. The Strategy 2020 Platform brings together all the university's activities in ecological, economic and social sustainability. The university uses its ISO 14001- certified environmental management system as a structure for its sustainability work. This contributes to increased awareness of sustainable development among employees, students and the surrounding environment for example with an annual follow-up and management review. The faculty and staff receive continuous competence development on sustainable development and all new courses and research projects are overseen by the responsible faculty for the sustainability content.

Early this year, the University of Gävle published a report highlighting the university's work for sustainable development from a holistic perspective. The report is based on the GASU™ (2011) framework, which analyses the university activities from economic, ecological, social, educational, and inter-linking dimensions. The report can be found here.
The sustainability pages of the University of Gävle can be found  here

The COPERNICUS Alliance representative at the University is Professor Rodrigo Lozano, who has a long history of research and initiatives regarding sustainability in universities and other organizations. See his ResearchGate profile.  


► Website of University of Gävle

Members map

members map

Founding members

These institutions supported the foundation of the COPERNICUS Alliance in 2010 by donating an extra sponsorship: 

  • University of Graz, Austria
  • University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria
  • University of Technology Graz, Austria
  • WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Leuphana University Luneburg, Germany
  • Open Universiteit in the Netherlands, The Netherlands
  • London South Bank University, UK
  • University of Gloucestershire, UK