basque1The University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) is a teaching and research institution officially founded in 1985, employing over 7,000 people throughout 31 faculties and schools geographically distributed in three campuses with over 50,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students. It is the only public university in the Basque Country, thus holding the responsibility to provide tertiary education both in Spanish and Basque to its society.

The University’s Strategic Plan (2012-17) places sustainability as a key organising principle. It establishes actions to embed sustainability in the curriculum, research activities and University’s operations. The Vice Rectorate for Students, Employment and Social Responsibility overviews and implements the sustainability priorities included in the Strategic Plan.

In November 2013, a call for grants for sustainability innovation was published, and 10 projects submitted by University Colleges and Schools were approved. These are projects in areas such as renewable energy, waste management or the improvement of energy efficiency, amongst others, which will have an impact to both the University campus and curriculum.

In addition, the University continues to be engaged with the Ekoscan Certification for environmental improvement. Currently, 15 out of the 31 Schools and Faculties are certified and a further seven have started the procedure. All these centres undertake an annual environmental improvement plan with the participation of the University community.


► Website of University of the Basque Country

Members map

members map

Founding members

These institutions supported the foundation of the COPERNICUS Alliance in 2010 by donating an extra sponsorship: 

  • University of Graz, Austria
  • University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria
  • University of Technology Graz, Austria
  • WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Leuphana University Luneburg, Germany
  • Open Universiteit in the Netherlands, The Netherlands
  • London South Bank University, UK
  • University of Gloucestershire, UK